Pack Light

Let’s face it, we all have baggage!  However some of you are carrying around a bag that’s really weighing you down.  I know it’s hard to let go of past hurts.  Yet, when you keep holding on to that bag of past hurts, it only makes you weak and you find that bag become bags-heavy bags.

So, you need to pack light. Because, you never know when the right person may be trying to come into your life and let me tell you, if that bag you are carrying has gotten heavier, they may not want to help you carry it.

The thing about these bags that turn others off, is that they come filled with bitterness, doubts, fears and a bunch of past hurts that you may find hard to let go of.  Then the minute the new person, who may be the right person come on the scene, you take that bag and dump it on them. You don’t mean to dump all your stuff on them, it’s just that you’ve been hurt so many times and haven’t learned to let go of the hurt you carry around in your bag, so you figure you’re not going to allow this person the opportunity of adding to your baggage, so you start dumping.

The problem with that scenario is that, because of all that dumping, you may have lost the love of your life. You need to just let things go, so that you can move on in your life. Trust me when I say, you will feel so much better.  I say that from experience.  Besides, do you think those who’ve hurt you are walking around carrying a bag filled with past hurts from you? Nope, they are enjoying their life and have moved on to other relationships or their next victim, and you my dear, are no longer in any of their pictures.

We go through things in life so we can learn from them and hopefully, not repeat our mistakes. They say love hurts, well I don’t believe that. Love is the one thing that should never hurt. It will be hard, but you will survive. Start letting go, little-by-little, day-by-day, so that when true love comes your way and they are willing to help you unpack, your bags will be much lighter.

2 Comments

  1. I enjoyed the truth in this piece because we often hear that “we have to learn to love ourselves before we can ever love anyone else”. While I believe that is true, there is this gray area in between, which is what you touch on. In my situation, I had some baggage, like everyone else does, and finding the right person for me helped me conceptualize all of it and helped me let some of it go. But sometimes when one does not find the right person, the whole conceptualization process can become toxic to the relationship. It’s really a case by case basis type of thing. But anyway, I appreciate this post because I think it applies to many situations, and sometimes we don’t hear this perspective enough.

    • Hi Limitlessons, I am glad you enjoyed my post “Pack Light”. I am also glad that others felt it was an important subject and that it helped others, as well as myself. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

