You hold the power!

I AM THE GREATEST! Those are the words that constantly came out of Muhammad Ali’s mouth. This dude would talk so much trash talk and boost himself up so much; that he would really get on my nerves. I use to think he was so full of himself. Yet, I was young and back then I didn’t understand the power of our words. Within his career he has lost 5 out of 56 fights and 4 of those fights were of decision and the last one was very near his illness with Parkinson’s syndrome. You see, what he spoke upon himself he made happen and he had every right to feel he was the greatest of all times.

Do you know that our words are very powerful? The way we speak about ourselves, to ourselves or even how we speak to others can be very damaging, if you are not speaking the right words. Basically, it is all about you believing in yourself and your abilities and helping others to believe in themselves as well.

In the Bible when David was going to fight Goliath, he said to Goliath, “You are coming at me with all your swords and spears, but I am coming at you in the name of the Lord Almighty.” Well, because David believed in himself as well as what the Lord had told him, you know what happened next…he put a whooping on Goliath.

Our words hold a whole lot of power. We can encourage with our words or we can hurt with our words. We can believe with our words or we can think negatively. If you are a parent, you should really think about the words you speak toward your children. I will never forget the time I was in my late teens and I was babysitting my God brothers and sister. Well, they would not go to sleep, so I said some really hurtful things to one of my God brothers because I was mad at him. Well, when my God mother found out she really let me have it (as she should have) and of course I have since asked God to forgive me, because I really didn’t mean to say that to him, but it was too late, I had already spoken. However, now that I am older and realize the power of words I often wonder if my sweet God brother was ever affected by what I said to him.

We don’t realize how strong our words are and the sting that it leaves with others as well as, ourselves. Words like “You’re never going to be nothing” or “You’re so ugly” or “You’re so fat”, “Dang, you’re skinny” “I love you”, “I hate you”, “I am such a loser”, “I am the greatest”, etc. Words hold a lot of power, simply because once spoken they can never be taken back.

Let this New Year approaching be the year that you make some major changes in the way you speak to others and most importantly the way you speak to yourself. We need to start lifting ourselves as well as, lifting each other up. I feel it is more important that you speak well of yourself, because if you don’t love and respect yourself, you surely can’t love or respect others. It all begins within each of us.

Now go out into the world and be that great person you were born and designed to be. As you’re lifting yourself up, lift up someone else. Give a compliment, give a smile, say something encouraging to a child or someone feeling down, tell someone you love them and really mean it, let someone know what you like and admire about them. Go forth each day remembering that your words hold a lot of power.

Ok, Great One! Get out there and use your power wisely, lovingly and for the good of others, as well as for yourself.

1 Comment

  1. Lovely post! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

