No Dirty Feet Allowed

Who are you allowing to walk through your mind with their dirty feet?

Where I work, part of my job is managing the floor. So, when someone would complain to me about something someone has done that they feel should be bought to everyone’s attention. I would send out a humorous analogy type message via email; this allows the point to get across without offending anyone or pointing the finger at anyone particular.

Well, one day someone sent me an email complaining of something, but lying within the message was a curse word. Although, I know they meant no harm, they thought I would think it to be funny, I guess… Well, I didn’t think it was funny at all. I quickly nipped the issue in the bud, by explaining to that person that I never use offensive language within my emails nor while speaking and I expect the same. They apologized, but were not too pleased with “little ole me” chastising them, so they stopped speaking to me…OH WELL!

See I did not allow their dirty feet to enter my mind and you should never allow anyone’s dirty feet to walk through your mind either. How many times have you allowed others to walk through your mind with their dirty feet? Have you allowed family members or others to put you down with nasty negative comments? Have you allowed friends to mistreat you and take your friendship for granted?  Do you say ugly things to yourself about yourself? If you answered yes to any of those questions, then you need to get it a new mat for your mind.

Don’t you know your worth? If not, then let me tell you that you are worth respect, love, kindness and happiness and you should only allow those four things within your circle in life. We should respect others and we should be respected as well. We should never give others permission to make us feel less than what we are or feel uncomfortable.

You should also only surround yourself with those that give encouragement and who are helpful in you becoming a better person and nothing less. You should also be the same type of person to and for them as well. If those you allow in your circle are constantly being negative toward you and others and you find it annoying, then maybe it is time for your circle to take on a new shape and cut those types loose.

I am not saying you dislike them…that is not what I am saying at all. I am saying you should continue to love them as a person, but no longer allow them to walk around in your mind with their dirty feet. It comes a time in life when you have to be true to yourself and your beliefs and feelings and put trying to be polite out with your next trash pickup.

It is time you get a new welcome mat, one that matches your new-found value of yourself and your worth and make it known to all visitors to your mind.

So, the next time you or anyone tries stepping on the welcome mat of your mind, you be sure to ask them to please wipe their feet, because…No Dirty Feet Allowed.

Leave a Reply

