Give the Gift of Dignity

dignity 1
I remember many years ago, when my children were much younger, one of my sons’ friends’ mother kicked him out of the house because he did not follow her rules. My son begged that I allow his friend to stay with us for a few weeks until his friend found a place to stay. I was a little hesitant at first. One reason was because I did not want to get involved in other people family matters and the other reason was that, I was never really that fond of the friend. Not that he was a bad kid, he was just great at manipulating others, an attribute I saw in him that my son and their friends did not.

After having my son go on and on about how I should treat others as I would want someone to treat one of my kids if they were in that situation, I gave in. I wasn’t happy with the two week arrangement, for this kid knew how to make you feel uncomfortable in your own home. However, I was proud of my son for helping me see that his friend didn’t like the idea anymore than I did and that although, I was unhappy with the situation I should show him some form of dignity. Glad to say it all worked out in the end.

That situation also helped me to realize that none of us fit the same mold, but we all were molded. We all bear the imprint of the Creator. We all have unique skills and God-given gifts. And we really are more alike than most like to think. And although some people’s unfortunate circumstances or poor life choices may cloud our view of them, that if we look hard enough, we will still see God’s handiwork in them. It is our responsibility to find it. Anyone created by God deserves our concern and our attention.

We are all on a journey. There’s a saying “Be nice to people on your way up because you may meet them on your way down.” I am sure you may know someone who has discovered the truth of that statement. Every person’s circumstance changes, what is true of someone today, may not be the same tomorrow. Fortunes change and paths turn, but people have the potential to be transformed.

You may be up today and another person may be down. Yet, that may not be the case forever. Who’s to say that next year this time your situation won’t be reversed? Therefore, we should not judge people based on their story up to this point in their lives because there is so much more to be written.

Let’s remember the Golden Rule. Treat others not as you think they should be treated, but as you would want to be treated if you were in their position. Remembering, dignity is one of the best gifts you can give anyone.

Leave a Reply

