Old Wounds

wounds
When you consciously replay a painful memory over and over in your head it’s self-abuse. Your past has given you the strength and awareness you have today. You must not let it haunt you. Instead celebrate it. Your wounds are your wisdom. Let them heal. Let them scar. In order for this to occur, you must know why you felt the way you did, what you learned from it, and why you no longer need to feel that way. The New Year is a good time to accept the past, let it be and begin pushing your spirit forward. You may carry a small scar with you for the rest of your life. However, this is perfectly OK. A scar is the effect of healing – it’s what makes you whole again.

6 Comments

  1. CrazyHairMom

    I am so guilty of doing this. I replay something over and over in my head til I am finally able to let it go and move on. I get better at it with age. Writing in a journal about incidents seems to help me manage to let go. Lately I have been thinking of my past a lot. But that is because I am using my journal writings to write a book. That hopefully some day I will be brave enough to publish.

    • Awesome! I would love to read your book…so get to it! 🙂

  2. CrazyHairMom

    Reblogged this on Insanalife: Untold stories of an insane mom and commented:
    I just wanted to reblog Old Wounds because it struck my heart. I have been so guilty of self-abuse in the past and sometimes even in the present. Very inspirational.

    • Thank you, I appreciate the reblog and I am happy it was an inspiration to you. That is why I do this. 🙂 God Bless!

  3. So very true. I love that you can touch on a powerful topic so concisely.

    • Thank you, for your comment and for reading my blog. It is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

