Window Dressing

in touch1

 The well-known playwright and poet Ntozake Shange once quoted, “Our society allows people to be absolutely neurotic and totally out of touch with their feelings and everyone else’s feelings, and yet be very respectable.”   If you truly think about what she is saying there is a whole lot of truth there. It’s sort of like going to your doctor’s office and there in the office are hanging and hangings of the various degrees they possess. You’re there because you aren’t feeling yourself and yet they totally dismiss what you are feeling, so much to the point, they start to make you doubt yourself or worse make you feel like maybe you’re going crazy. This type of behavior from a doctor is called not having a bedside manner.  They are so busy trying to impress you with all their various degrees that your feelings are not being a factor.

Our professional accomplishments are one thing, but we often take them to be the whole thing or the only thing that matters. Isn’t there so much more to life? We shouldn’t focus so much on our careers and the prizes we have received, but as our achievements as human beings.  We need to really take a look at the way we treat our family members, friends, those around us or even ourselves.  Why not do something nice for a co-worker or loved one.  I am sure there are those that have helped you in some way, along the way that you can call or write to say  “thank you” for whatever they may have  helped you with.  Don’t just consume become a nurture and nourish so that you can become whole as a person.  Only then will we gain inner respectability, which is a goal far worthier than all the window dressing you can collect.

 

 

 

 

7 Comments

  1. Deb

    Those are the really important things to hang…what we did today to help someone else, who we gave a smile to, who did we hug, who did we laugh with! Such a wonderful post Cheryl!! I wanted to tell you that I Youtubed Joyce Meyer and have been listening to her for several days now…she’s great! What a sad childhood she had and yet look where she is now and the joy and blessing she is sharing with others. Thanks for mentioning her.

    • Hi Deb, Hope all is well. I listen to Joyce every morning while getting ready for work. I find it helps me start my day out on the right foot. Glad you enjoyed that post. Have a great and blessed week ahead!

      • Deb

        I listen to Joel Osteen every morning he helps me get my foot out the door 😉
        So I have listened to Joyce too now as I get ready…it’s great to have a few choices!! Thank you. Wishing you a blessed week too! 🙂

      • I like Joel too. I listen to him every Sunday night before going to sleep, for positive dreams. 🙂

      • Deb

        I listen to Sarah Hall, who has great meditations to fall asleep to!! I listen to her via YouTube on my Smartphone in bed. 🙂

      • I will check her out. Thanks Deb! Have a great week ahead.

      • Deb

        Thanks Cheryl, enjoy your weekend as well!

Leave a Reply

