Are You a Mary or Martha?

mary or martha1

I will admit, I have always been like one of the biblical sisters Martha. I am a complete control freak and whenever there is something that needs to be done , I prefer to do it myself. There use to be times before heading out to attend a girls night out with friends or family members, I would always have a habit of  making sure things in the house were in order before leaving the house. Everyone would have to wait on me while I made sure things were in order before heading out for the night. Of course, they would laugh at me and make fun, but I just couldn’t let go of the control of having everything how I wanted them to be. But I must admit that it’s more fun to just let things go and enjoy others company, rather than running around, fixing and making sure everything is just right. It took a while for me to realize that I could be doing so much more things and enjoying myself, than worrying about those little household issues. So, although I still keep my house in order, I don’t take it all too seriously if I see something out of place. I have slowly gotten out of my Martha stage and learned to become more like Mary and take the time to enjoy the moments as they arrive.

For those that are not familiar with the biblical story of Mary and Martha (Luke 10:38-42) Jesus and his disciples were on their journey and came upon a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him.  Martha had a sister named Mary, who sat at the feet of Jesus listening to what he was saying instead of helping Martha prepare. Martha was so distracted by all the preparations that she felt had to be made, that she asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself?” Tell her to help me!” “Martha, Martha,” Jesus answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed except for one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

The message to Mary and Martha’s story is while you are running around fretting and worrying about everything being perfect, you may be missing out on what is really important which is spending time with those around you and just being in the moment. So, which are you, Mary or Martha?

 

 

Leave a Reply

